Poets logo

Joys of a Writer

I think a lot of people experience this exact thing

By Mohammed DarasiPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Joys of a Writer
Photo by Eduardo Casajús Gorostiaga on Unsplash

Okay. My characters are outlined, and they’re fitting so perfectly. Now I gotta start writing

From the beginning I chose the plot to perfectly reflect the characters and their tendencies

But how about the ending scene?

Wait, why am I thinking about that now when the page in front of me had words unseen?

Let’s focus and try to finish this opening chapter at least, and then we can foresee the ending

First paragraph is done. Looks perfect, so onto the second I’m gone

Finished the second, but then realise the overall voice is not the same as the initial premise

I like the second edition so I have to go back and edit

I change the first paragraph to fit the second… but how did it end up like this?

Now the voice of the main character is lost in some sort of abyss

Of words that seem unrelated, so far from the concept I’d created!

I want the main character to be strong and independent

For that, on words I’m dependent

But ye hast betrayed me and crucified my vision!

They’re asking for revisions…

The ending scene comes to mind again

Oh, that would be so amazing, to have things end this way

But then the flashing cursor on the screen pulls me back to reality

Where not half a page is even done or close to finality

The story I had in my head was so epic, I really wanted to write it

But now my head is all muddled, I can’t be bothered writing

Sitting here for an hour on two paragraphs in constant regress

The story stuck in limbo forever… in progress

performance poetrysocial commentary

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Denise E Lindquist10 months ago

    I will do that with rhyme. Move sentences around so that they can rhyme and then I will say, is this what I wanted to say? So relatable. Nice piece. ❤️

  • Rene Peters10 months ago

    That's exactly why I can't write actual stories. I overthink and criticize everything and then just stop.

  • L.C. Schäfer10 months ago

    I struggle with endings more than anything else! I also struggle with the temptation to edit as I go, which can leave the thing perfectly polished in its opening but always unfinished.

  • Hahahahahaha this was sooooo relatable! Loved your poem!

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    I can relate, stuck on my novel challenge right now . 😔

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Yep! Sounds like me a few times before, lol. I always leave unnecessary question mark in places that I know need help and come back to them later so I don’t spend to much time feeling stuck in one place. I have at least 8 stories in my drafts section of vocal, waiting for the day inspiration returns. I like your very relatable poem, Mohammed. Well done!

Mohammed DarasiWritten by Mohammed Darasi

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.