Poets logo

joy

my middle name

By TestPublished about a year ago β€’ Updated about a year ago β€’ 1 min read
14
"Before the Storm" River 2020

Joy: noun, the emotion evoked by well-being, success, or good fortune or by the prospect of possessing what one desires

my middle name is joy

even when my skin

feels as if it is on fire

begging for a long forgotten blade

it is joy when the weight of expectation

and injustice

lies heavy on my shoulders

often until my muscles shake

my middle name sits

in between my shoulder blades

a gift given to me by my parents

it sits there steeling my posture

when i am told i cannot

it sits in my stomach

when the butterflies come

when i see your beautiful face

my middle name is sewn into my backbone

a soft word for a hard person

it is joy when i walk out into the sun

feeling it's rays warming my scarred skin

my middle name is a promise

to live

it is the freedom that fills my lungs

with each breath

my middle name is Joy

it is all i wish to bring

surreal poetrynature poetryinspirational
14

About the Creator

Test

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.