Poets logo

Joy

A Poem Using The Five Senses.

By Carol TownendPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Joy
Photo by Mathew Schwartz on Unsplash

I watch the Eagle flying high in all its glory.

It takes one swift swoop and perches on a fence,

Holding it's head high, and proudly.

I taste the icecream on the cone before me,

I savour the cool, creamy, sugary, sweet taste,

My taste buds thank me, but I won't finish

it in haste!

I hear the happy laughter of children playing,

It fills my ears with melodies reminding me

of happy times gone by; but in my mind,

Still lingering.

I touch a velvet green leaf on a tree,

It's softness reminds me that,

I am free.

I smell the astringent but beautiful smell

of a pink rose.

It reminds me that summer is close.

And with sadness, it's suddenly dark,

But I smile when I remember,

My happy walk in the park.

And as I remember the beauty I have

seen today,

I realize that there is joy in Every day.

surreal poetrysocial commentarynature poetrylove poemsinspirational

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Beautiful!!!💖💖💕

Carol TownendWritten by Carol Townend

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.