Poets logo

Jiggly Jell-0

A Quiet Night

By Cathy holmesPublished about a year ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2022
44
Photo from girl-with-red-hat/Unsplash

The evening started out so well at my favourite restaurant

A vast buffet of delicious choices, as many as you want

Much too full for rich dessert, no room left in my belly

The server offered a colorful tray of tiny cups of jelly

-

There was peach and raspberry, strawberry, lime, and many other flavors

I tried them all, and then took seconds, the taste I truly savored

My smile grew wide with each plastic cup of the colorful jelly jiggle

My voice grew louder, I started to sing, and dance and laugh and giggle.

-

I was invited out to dinner, a quiet night they said

But now it’s half past four a.m. and I can’t find my bed

Oh wait, I don’t even live here. What is this place I’m in?

There a spike heel near my ear canal, and a sneaker stuck to my chin.

************************************************************

performance poetry
44

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (35)

Sign in to comment
  • Caroline Jane6 months ago

    🤣 I swear I read tnis 1st time... no idea why I didn't comment then! This is a great entry. 👍

  • What a fun little jelly poem. Well done Cathy

  • Test6 months ago

    So funny. I tried a jello shot once. I was god awful so got pissed on red wine instead...There was a four am but no sneakers or heels ...just an unassuming shrub of some kind 😁

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    I love your unique humor you put in your creations 🥰👌That’s not easy to do for some, it just come naturally in your stories and poems

  • Stéphane Dreyfusabout a year ago

    Hilarious!

  • Not what I was expecting. Too funny!

  • Robbie Newportabout a year ago

    How a sneaker got stuck to your chin is the real mystery.

  • Tracy Willisabout a year ago

    Loved this celebration of the Jell-O shot

  • From Where!?about a year ago

    Cool!

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Awesome work!! 😀

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Hannah Mooreabout a year ago

    Oops - nice fun poem, thank you.

  • U.Rdiyaabout a year ago

    Congratulations on the Top Story! As usual, your words are delightful!!!

  • Kathleen Simmonsabout a year ago

    It all started with laughter and ended with tears. Quite vital

  • Brian Gradyabout a year ago

    this is fun and whimsical, great job

  • Gloria D. Gonsalvesabout a year ago

    What a tale. Loved the closing stanza :)

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    Jello shots: Start's in laughter end in tears!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    lol ☺️ I would need to try them all too! Ah the good old days! Excellent take on the challenge! Congratulations on the Top Story!

  • Vivian R McInernyabout a year ago

    Haha. Beware the Jello shots!

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Congratulations Cathy on yet a second Top Story with one of my Vocal + Assist Prompt Challenges!!!

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Congratulations you are on a roll, and well deserved.

  • E.L. Martinabout a year ago

    Yay! Congrats on top story! Previously read & ❤️'d, but worth the re-read! ☺️

  • This comment has been deleted

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Fun ! 😂😜🥰

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    That last line tho!! Excellent and congratulations on top story hearted

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.