Poets logo

January 7th: Celebrate Bobblehead Day

1964 Throwback Memory

By Shirley BelkPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
6
1964 Beatles

Way back in 1964, there was an invasion by the Brits! Well, at least four of them. These invaders had long hair and all the old timers were having a hard time with that. It was about the same time they were having a bad time with their own: American Elvis and his gyrating hips. Sorry, it would be long hair in and crewcuts out from now on. The Beatles would not be stopped!

My Aunt 'Cile (short for Lucile,) kept up with the times. She had always been staunch and conservative, even taking me off at a young age to a Republican party rally for Barry Goldwater (versus Lyndon Baines Johnson/LBJ) held in Houston, Texas. BUT, for some unknown reason to me and my cousins, she secretly liked the Beatles. Or maybe she just loved her nieces and nephews. Anyway, for Christmas she gave my cousin, Diana a Paul McCartney bobblehead and I got the George Harrison one. We were big fans of their tunes. Footnote: years later she bought for herself, the record, "Imagine" by John Lennon. But she still didn't like the fact he had once said to reporters he was "more famous than Jesus" or that he and Yoko Ono posed naked for Rolling Stone magazine.

I think most people today associate bobbleheads with sports players, but this short video explains that having just about any personae "bobbling" is possible:

But I'd like to get back to George Harrison for the moment, since my bobblehead story is about him. He was and always will be my favorite Beatle. There was just "Something" about the songs he wrote, like this one:

“I’ll tell you one thing for sure: once you get to the point where you’re actually doing things for truth’s sake, then nobody can ever touch you again because you’re harmonising with a greater power.” — George Harrison. https://faroutmagazine.co.uk/ranking-every-song-george-harrison-the-beatles/

**********************************************************************

ProseFamilycelebrities
6

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    Lol, I'm with LC in on this. I never knew bobbleheads had a day. Hahahahaha I didn't know John Lennon said that he's more famous than Jesus 🤣🤣🤣

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    I had no idea that Bobbleheads had their own day! What's your Beatles Bobblehead worth 😁

  • Gigi Gibson4 months ago

    Neat story Shirley! I was born in 1957, so we grew up with the Beatles and the Monkees. My brother and I and my mom would dance together in the living room just for entertainment. Those were the fun memories. Thanks for sharing.

  • Mark Gagnon4 months ago

    I remember their first Ed Sullivan appearance. You couldn't hear the music over the screaming girls. My father shut off the TV because of the noise.

  • Lana V Lynx4 months ago

    This is great. I grew up in the Soviet Union, and even there The Beatles were huge.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.