Poets logo

January 19th.

a talk.

By Alex BarbuPublished 4 years ago 1 min read

You managed to bring back the rhyme in me

When we walked among all the art-

You untied my soul and brought with you the key

To let you walk straight in my heart.

A place I had guarded for so many years

And tied up with a lock and chain,

Because I was more than terrified of tears

And to fall in love again.

I was convinced love was not meant for me,

I was clueless and drowning in doubt.

But now when I sit by the Cherryhill tree,

It is you that I’m thinking about.

And when I realized I was falling for you

I convinced myself that I was wrong,

And I distanced myself and I hid from what’s true,

But Lord knows I can’t stay gone for long.

When I think of the songs and the drives and the walks,

I catch wings and I soar through the sky.

When I think of your lips, and your eyes and our talks,

It gets really damn hard not to cry.

And I picture a future, a dog and a home,

Where you’re by me in all that I do.

Want to take you away, sail to Greece or to Rome,

And accept what I already knew.

The thing is that love is not simple, or fair,

To those that don’t know what it means.

It’s a constant fight and distress and despair,

Men are meant to behave like machines.

But I love you, I’ll say it a million times more,

Because what we have is so rare.

I’ll scream it until my throat and lungs are sore,

I need you more than I need to breathe air.

And I’ll say it again and again and again,

I will love you ‘till Cherryhill falls.

I will love you through snow, and through sun and through rain,

Let our love tear down all of the walls.

It will not be easy to follow roads from above,

But I know I have nothing to hide.

I am happy, and free, and so madly in love,

And you’re actually here by my side.

love poems

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Alex BarbuWritten by Alex Barbu

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.