Poets logo

Jagged Scars

of truths not told

By Cathy holmesPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
24
Photo by Juan Davila on Unsplash

The jagged scars that cross my soul,

from truth or falsehood ne’er to feel,

of what, pray tell, have they foretold?

*

From lessons learned in days of old,

when ne’er was questioned right or real,

the jagged scars that cross my soul.

*

The glowing orb shines halo gold,

with promises in dream revealed.

Of what, pray tell, have they foretold?

*

To run from grace or join the fold.

To have, with faith, the strength to heal,

the jagged scars that cross my soul.

*

Of answers found in words unscrolled,

when mind, nor heart nor soul appeal,

of what, pray tell, have they foretold?

*

Upon altars of truth behold,

while burdened heart in hand, I kneel,

the jagged scars that cross my soul.

Of what, pray tell, have they foretold?

inspirationalsurreal poetrysocial commentary
24

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • J5 months ago

    Magnificent

  • Gerald Holmes5 months ago

    Very well done.

  • Lena Folkert5 months ago

    You have long been an amazing writer and poet, but I have to say I think you've officially found your poetic form. Your Villanelles are nothing short of transcendent and are seriously skillfully, expertly executed. And so, so beautiful. Well done, my friend. You're my predicted winner for this challenge! <3

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    I tried many times to crack out a villanelle and couldn't get on with it. It's bloody hard! You make it look easy. This flows so well. Well done Cathy 😁

  • Kristen Balyeat5 months ago

    You are the villanelle master, my friend! Seriously! Every line in this hits. Your poetry just blows me away. 💫💞

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    Wonderfully-written!

  • Gina C.5 months ago

    Exceptional work, dear friend! Your poetry is alway so amazing 🥹

  • Caroline Jane5 months ago

    Oh. How elegant! Also... how mysterious too. The last quatrain is perfect. Great work. You are such a good poet!

  • I was sure I read this, I have now, excellent work

  • Indeed, what might they foretell for each of us, those jagged scars across our souls? Beautifully contemplative & thought-provoking.

  • Real Poetic5 months ago

    I’m lost for words. This is other worldly and masterfully executed. You are the queen of Villanelles.

  • Oh my, this is amazing. Thank you for sharing this ❤️

  • Beautiful Cathy there was so mich in this excellent work

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    Beautiful, Cathy. Good job

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Brilliant work Cathy! They definitely have message for us indeed! 😊👏

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    Hannah stoled my comment really. I was thinking of Dylan Thomas' famous villanelle and other classic sounding poems. Stunning work, buddy. And I do believe this also should be a Top Story. I was going to say Villanelles are clearly your wheelhouse, but I've yet to find a form that you don't do marvellous work in! :)

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    This one has a really kind of classic feel. Very elegant.

  • Whoaaaaa! This blew my mind! Gosh you're so freaking amazing at these Villanelles! I loved this so much!

  • Joe Patterson5 months ago

    This needs to be a top story.

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Awesome!!! Exquisitely written and loved your Villanelle poem!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.