Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

j'ai perdu mon corps

spellchecked; equipped with a foreword

By Andrei Z.Published 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
j'ai perdu mon corps
Photo by Nik on Unsplash

I wrote this strange poem (which is presented below), slept on it, and realized that my French grammar is lame (many thanks to Cendrine Marrouat)—though I would call it more of a typo; my French grammar is doing alright (or rather its absence (only for the time being; am learning, am I?)). What I also realized was that this poem is a(n) (almost) direct continuation to events described in yet another poem I wrote some time ago (and it's nothing but a coincidence):

Furthermore, I highly recommend the animated film I allude to in the poem's title. It won the Nespresso Grand Prize in the International Critics' Week section at the 2019 Cannes Film Festival, and it indeed is amazing. The animation, the soundtrack, the idea, and the surrealistic, existentialistic energy it emanates. By the way, the film is based on a book.

### ### ###

j'ai perdu mon corps

now i watch my head soar

in the air as though

it's a chinese lantern

and there's so much gore

i want to vomit but i can't.

the dribbling blood creates a mysterious pattern

on the floor. I'm afraid

to lose it all and faint;

unconsсious, my head

would dribble on the floor

and rock and roll.

meanwhile, my body,

a lifeless breathless doll,

turns blue and starts to decompose

i hope it'll serve as compost

for some hypothetical rose

or as dinner to a bear

i'm fine with both

and honestly, i do not care

this poem is gross

but i don't care

i lost my body, i am experiencing stress,

stress in excess:

at work, at home.

and now i have this gruesome syndrome:

i lost my head,

pardon, my bad,

i lost my body.

social commentaryfact or fiction

About the Creator

Andrei Z.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • ema10 months ago

    This is unusual and terrifying! It strikes me a lot, and I don't know why, it's a bit disturbing, but I can't help but read, maybe it's a bit ironic, anyway, many compliments, I find it really original! 😮

  • Rob Angeli11 months ago

    Still a great poem. The leaps and bounds you have made in your French in only the space of a day astounds me.

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    This strongly reminds me of another poem I read of yours just recently! This one totally surpasses that one though both in scope and the evident intricacies of the French language! 😅 Making myself laugh at how TERRIBLY unfunny I am being! Apologies.

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    It's always in the last place you look. Ha, ha. Anyway, it is an interesting piece of work here. Let me see more of the gore in you... ;)

  • Hahahahahahahahaha I freaking loved this! Gore and blood are my favourite!

  • And all that goes with it. I hear ya, man.

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    Cool little poem! Is this a metaphor? Or more surreal? And are those Lego people in the picture? Hahah - love it ! I haven’t heard of that film in the title but do enjoy French cinema.

  • Rob Angeli11 months ago

    That really did spill it out all over the floor. Pretty disembodied poetry! "i hope it'll serve as compost for some hypothetical rose or as dinner to a bear i'm fine with both"

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    Wow, that was quite powerful! Well done! By the way, it's "J'ai perdu mon corps" in French. ;-)

Andrei Z.Written by Andrei Z.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.