Poets logo

It Wasn't You

em

By Emma LooneyPublished 7 months ago 2 min read
1

I walked away from my home

From my life

I walked away from a man whom I had slept beside every night

Walked away long after you had said goodbye

I wish you had loved me

That you would have treated me right

You always thought money was the answer at any given time

I wish my vows would have not been said

That our marriage had not happened

I could never regret you because of the child we share

Though you are still my worst mistake and wasted many of my years

You left long before I walked away

You ran from me having no words to say

I walked away from a life I had loved

I left a man whose heart I could never touch

I don't know why or what I did for you to have treated me the way that you did

All the broken glass

The times you had yelled

All of the moments you laughed as my tears had fell

You took from me what I can’t get back

You watched me and my spirit collapse

You ran and I chased you

So many years I had wished you loved me the way I did you

So many nights spent alone when all I wanted was the man who I had missed to come home and want to be with me too

I walked away from what you never knew

I walked away from my home

From my life

Walked away from everything I had built with you

The way I trust and how I love will forever be damaged because of us

I could never be loved by you

You never wanted to

I walked away

And I said goodbye

Because it was never you who could love me right

I walked away from my home

From a life I had known

I walked away and you watched me go

I wish you well and hope that one day you will know

What it is to love somebody

And what it is to grow

It was never you

It was never me

I had outgrown you and what I thought we could be

I let you go so I could be free

When I thought i would be angry

Thought I would be sad

The divorce being granted just made me smile and laugh

I could breathe

I could be myself

No more crying with my things broken and left

Dress as I wanted without hearing hate

Remembering I was beautiful just as I was made

I walked away

I wish I had ran

You were never him; never the right man

I can look back now and see

That it wasn’t you

It was never you

I just had to remember that I am good enough just as I am.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Emma Looney

Putting words onto paper is my calm in any storm. Whether it be just a simple thought, poem, story, whatever- I find myself doing it all. & reading others; there is nothing like a good read. If you read anything of mine, leave a comment!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    Gosh, this hit me so hard. So sorry for everything that happened. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.