Poets logo

It Was You

From that moment, I always knew.

By Ashley Beatty-PernettiPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

In a dark lit bar,

Where the music was loud

And the people were louder,

You took the seat next to mine.

You looked familiar,

With your slicked back hair.

Those brown eyes sparkling

When I finally caught your eye.

It was New Years Eve,

And both our plans had failed.

We ended up at our hometown bar

With free entry, not even a line.

At midnight, we did not kiss.

You were a gentleman,

And I was shy.

But you never left my side.

I had been in a place,

Convinced I'd be alone.

Failed relationship after another.

Until you came along and changed my mind.

Before we knew it, we'd fallen in love.

You changed me,

And I changed you.

We changed together,

With no end in sight.

All these years later,

Those brown eyes still sparkle

Each time you look my way.

And honestly, mine still do the same.

I love you more

Than I ever thought possible.

I've always known it was you,

We are endgame.

That last line was goofy,

But that's how I feel

When you make me laugh

And drive me insane.

After a wedding and two children,

You still love me like before.

And even though you don't believe me,

I still know I love you more.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Ashley Beatty-Pernetti

Wife. Mom. Creator.

Just a messy 29-year-old, wading her way through life, one word at a time.

Raising mental health awareness with the written word and firsthand experience.

Both fiction and non-fiction stories to nourish your soul.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.