Poets logo

It's Time I Lead

Changing Perspectives

By Nicole Higginbotham-HoguePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
It's Time I Lead
Photo by Rod Long on Unsplash

I see your sadness

I see your tears

It’s hard to see

After all these years

You have always been there

To hold my hand

To teach me how to do things

To help me understand

And now that you are lost

I want to assist

But I not sure where to start

That’s the plot twist

You were the parental

And I was the child

So, your experience is so much greater

And that is putting it mildly

How do I lead you?

When I don’t know the way

What do I do?

What do I say?

I wish I could ask you

But that would surely defeat the point

It’s so agonizing to feel useless

And so sad to disappoint

Maybe I’ll just listen

And be there to hold your hand

Because even though I don’t have the answers

And don’t understand

Maybe it’s just support and comfort you need

That’s something I can do

It’s time I take the lead

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Nicole Higginbotham-Hogue

Nicole Higginbotham-Hogue is a lesfic author at amzn.to/36DFT2x. Sign-up for her newsletter at higginbothampublications.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.