Poets logo

It's okay to not be okay

Poem

By GiaPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
(Credit:Wallpapers.com)

How can they just say, "You're gonna be alright."

When I know I'm not.

I rethink my whole life and just sit in the night,

With my heart racing faster and faster with each thought.

No matter how patient I am.

No matter how much people try talking to me.

No word of comfort stops me from feeling the way I am.

Finally, everyone just gives up on me and lets me be.

Why do I feel this way?

Why do I feel trapped inside...myself?

If only I could do the thing I once loved, and dance the day away.

Now, even that's gone and I can only sit still observing everybody like an elf on the shelf.

But my hope sparks again, imagining that there's someone out there who understands my pain.

Who understands that it's okay to not be okay.

It helps me get up, be grateful for what I have, it helps me focus and work my brain.

That's what keeps me going, helps me get up and say "I can do it, I'll be okay."

sad poetryGratitude
1

About the Creator

Gia

"To gain your voice, you have to forget about having it heard." - Allen Ginsberg

"Stay faithful to the stories in your head." - Paula Hawkins

“I write because I don't know

What I think

Until I read

What I say.” - Mary Flannery O'Connor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.