Poets logo

It's not always easy being me

When I don't always fit in

By D-DonohoePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
It's not always easy being me
Photo by Finding Dan | Dan Grinwis on Unsplash

It’s not always easy being me.

I can’t talk football; it doesn’t interest me.

Because of that, you push me aside.

Do you know my opinion still matters even though I don’t know who won on Sunday?

I am a nerd; these days they are cool,

But not where I work, not in this job that I do.

I hear the jibes you make about me.

I have thoughts on how to do things, but I’m an introvert,

I can’t yell over the top of you all.

You tell me I must speak up, but never tell others they should listen more.

I hear the negative and not the positive

At night I ruminate (even though you hate that word).

Black dog, fears, anxiety, feel like I’m drowning.

I try to learn to silence my own negative voice,

I try to build my confidence and speak up,

But it’s not always easy being me.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

D-Donohoe

Amateur storyteller, LEGO fanatic, leader, ex-Detective and human. All sorts of stories: some funny, some sad, some a little risqué all of them told from the heart.

Thank you all for your support.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Wow, I loved that you put so much emotion into this! I think we can all relate a little to not fitting in no matter what kind of confidence we wear. Thanks for sharing, well done :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.