Poets logo

It's Not A Haiku!!!

It's A Senryū

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 1 min read
8

Introduction

Vocal had two recent Haiku Challenges, but I don't think one of the winners was a Haiku , I think almost every one was a Senryū.

Up til very recently I thought a Haiku was just a Japanese poem with seventeen syllables in a 5-7-5 line form, until a photographer friend Lee Sei-Macfhearchair

told me what I had written was Senryū, not Haiku

Here are the definitions with example poems:

Haiku:

A type of short-form poetry originally from Japan. Traditional Japanese haiku consist of three phrases that contain a kireji, or "cutting word",17 on (phonetic units similar to syllables) in a 5, 7, 5 pattern, and a kigo, or seasonal reference. Similar poems that do not adhere to these rules are generally classified as senryū.

Winter Is Leaving

Spring Is Now Coming Our Way

And Flowers Will Bloom

Senryū:

A Japanese form of short poetry similar to haiku in construction: three lines with 17 morae (or on, often translated as syllables). Senryū tend to be about human foibles while haiku tend to be about nature, and senryū are often cynical or darkly humorous while haiku are more serious.

Unlike haiku, senryū do not include a kireji (cutting word), and do not generally include a kigo, or season word.

Not A Haiku

No Kigo, No Kireji

Haiku It's Not

Conclusion

I know people will say I'm being pedantic but even Dr John Coope Clarke didn't get it right with his Haiku

slam poetrysurreal poetry
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    I think I'll be more comfortable writing a Senryu than a Haiku, lol!

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    More Anarchy! Love it 🥰

  • Made in DNAabout a year ago

    I really have to agree with you. But I'm past caring as I gave up on Vocal. I'm just letting my sub expire this summer and I'll continue to coast, as I have been doing for the last... decade here. The original "OMNI Reboot" was a much better site.

  • Madoka Moriabout a year ago

    If you want to get REALLY pedantic the first one isn't a haiku either, since the 'm' at the end of "bloom" would count as one on... maybe? :D I've seen people refer to the "cutting word" before but have never seen anyone define it. What does it actually mean?

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Excellent and impressive information!!! Loving it!!!💕💖😊

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Very interesting, Mike. I want to read more about Senryū. I did love both haiku winners, and enjoyed reading soooo many submissions.

  • This comment has been deleted

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.