Poets logo

It's My Choice

A free-verse poem about the importance of accountability and decision-making

By Talia DevoraPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
It's My Choice
Photo by Javier Allegue Barros on Unsplash

It’s my choice if I want to be

clean as washed, scented hair,

charming as a box of silver diamonds,

active as an athlete,

calm as a silent monk,

smart as a gifted historian,

vibrant as a living rainbow,

and kind as a cuddly puppy.

It’s my choice if I want to be

greasy and oily like French fries,

naughty as a thug,

odorous like rotten fish,

trashy like burned paper,

wild as a hyena,

ugly as a pimply-faced witch,

lazy like a sick dog,

and evil like a red-skinned devil.

I choose what I do

and how I want to reveal myself.

Good things have luxurious rewards,

bad things have nasty ramifications.

It’s all on me to choose

the avenues I drive on.

It’s all on me to pick

the prizes I want to earn.

By Damian Siodłak on Unsplash

Thank you for taking the time to read another one of my free-verse poems. If you enjoyed reading this poem, please give it a ❤️, share it with others and feel free to send me a tip/pledge to show your appreciation and support. To find and read more of my Vocal publications, please subscribe to me and visit my public profile. Please feel free to connect with me outside of Vocal. Until next time!

IG Profile: @naturalbibliophile22

Facebook Profile: Talia Devora (connect with me through the Vocal Social Society, The Vocal Creators Lounge and Vocal Creators Saloon Facebook groups)

Medium Profile:

AllPoetry Profile:

By Jill Heyer on Unsplash

#freeversepoetry #autisticpoet #decisionmaking #accountability #personalchoices #betteringmyself #inspirationalpoetry #selfempowerment #selfworth #selfconfidence #selfhelp

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.