Poets logo

It's dark

Countdown

By Umesh Yadav Published 5 months ago 1 min read
It's dark
Photo by DANNY G on Unsplash

10 seasons we created

Between the words we exchanged

After a winter night

On a dewy autumn,

I called it love.

9 different colours

Sparkled in your eyes

I changed my curtains

To all those shades

8 days it took

For you to take my call

My heart felt hollower

Than your apology

7 roses in a bouquet

All a shade of red

You looked at my expectant face

And said you like the white ones

6 minutes late

I entered the cafe

Your glare greeted me

And your retreating back

Bid me goodbye

5 reasons I gave myself

To love you again

But at night

4 of them disappeared as I

discovered in your bedroom

3 guns you had been

Hiding from me

2 bullets is all you took

To take away the future

Which could have existed but won't

1 body lied

Blood painting the floor

Your eyes of 9 shades

Still stayed closed

0 promises remained

As you opened your dark eyes

And looked at my frozen body

Tinted red.

love poemsMental HealthFirst Draft

About the Creator

Umesh Yadav

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Umesh Yadav Written by Umesh Yadav

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.