Poets logo

It’s Been Days

A poem to go by.

By Smita SinhaPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
It’s Been Days
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

The water was running in the bathroom, but there was no one inside the bath. As if she was waiting for the cool water to be warm.

It’s been days, and the ceiling had had waters seeped deep in.

My eyes lay fixedly at the watermarks on the ceiling as if I was drawing some meaning to my life.

How the walls don’t show what the waters had done to them?

They remain tall and strong despite all the odds they have to face.

The weather was changing.

It hadn’t rained that morning when the sky was cloudy as if the clouds had gone to bring the rains from distant places which lay far off in the mountains.

The clouds seemed haughty for all the work they have done to bring the rain in.

The wind was windy which showed when the windows by the room got shut abruptly.

The trees had shed the leaves in the backyard, pale yellow was the colour I had found stuck in my hair when the children had shaken up the trees to get a glimpse of the little bird that had laid eggs in it. The autumn was in, was all I had uttered.

Walking the stairs that day, I had found a button that I had lost from one of the beige cardigans that wore the other day. Gleeful, I had kept it in one of my pockets safely. When I was to the end of my passageway, I had come across the woolen threads and dusty paws of the kitten that I had owned who had played with the woolen balls, and soon she got tired after playing with it.

Going by the kitchen, I had found the rocking chair to be moving to and fro. After going there, I had found my elderly grandmother to be sleeping there with reading glasses on and without a blanket. And the half-opened book which rested on the ground. After covering her with a woolen blanket and had kept her glasses on the side table. She was sleeping peacefully, was all I had uttered. Seeing the cool winds grazing the skin, I had thought that the winter is not far off now. And need to get ready for the season.

Now, it’s time to light the fireplace now. So, the warmth can engulf the whole house. When the fireplace was lit, the members of the house gathered there and reminisced about the old times. And stories were told to children to remember the best time of their lives.

Fin.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.