Poets logo

It's a Practical Matter, Falsely

A Poem

By Brynne NelsonPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

It isn't so much that my world turns around you,

Or that you're all I can ever think of,

Or even that you're the only one I see.

I don't walk on clouds when I'm with you--

That seems unstable--

Or hear music when you look at me

(And if I did, would you forgive me for not listening to what you're saying?)

Or dance every step I take at your side;

I'm not much of a dancer.

No, it's more that my heart has become accustomed to being where I put it,

And I'd rather not uproot it from its comfortable home in your chest.

The good news

Is that, if you want to give it to me,

My heart left a lovely little place where yours could stay

Just North-East of my lungs.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Brynne Nelson

I'm a wife, mother, and writer. I have a passion for crafting stories and poems and posts. Please check out my work; I hope you enjoy it! If you do, feel free to leave a tip so that I can keep generating cool content!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.