Poets logo

It's a paradox.

The longer you're gone, the more I grieve.

By Abby GustafsonPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
4
It's a paradox.
Photo by Chiara F on Unsplash

It's a paradox: The longer you're gone, the more I grieve.

The more I wonder.

I grew up knowing the warmth of his smile and wonder if yours would've been just as sunny

I wonder if your voice would've sounded as similar, or if I would've been able to tell it was you even over the phone

I wonder if my jokes would make you laugh just as much, until your kind blue eyes started to water and you couldn't catch a breath

I wonder if you would've turned out to be my best friend, too.

The longer the time since I was a kid that December,

The more I wish for just one Christmas with you close.

I grew up holding on to vague flashbacks and wonder if I was on my tiny tip-toes to peer up into your little hospital bed

I wonder how the tubes and lights and sounds never scared you

I wonder when I understood it to be a paradox for only one brother to come home with us

I wonder when I'll go Home with you there, too.

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Abby Gustafson

"Give them a compelling reason to read more from you," Vocal said.

"'Compelling' is subjective," I said.

Read away as you wish - Cheers!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Emos Sibu Poriei (Kaya)4 months ago

    Sad. Very touching.

  • This was so heartbreaking. Sending you lots of love and hugs 🥺❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.