Poets logo

It's a New Year!

I'm not going to repeat the same mistakes

By ©I.M. "That Girl," Inure MusePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I'm not going to repeat the same mistakes as last year. I'm going to be positive and determined. Goal-driven. I'm going to be careful not to let myself fall for the same old type of person. Or keep the same old type of friends. I'm going to value my mind, and meditate, often and devote myself to self-care. I'm going to mend broken bridges with family and possibly, friends.

In fact, I'm going to try to be more open-minded. I'm going to give those, who make mistakes, the benefit of the doubt. Even if I'm unnerved by their unusual ways and the way they try to hide it. This is a new start... and I'll be damned if I let another, midterm, bad friend, job loss, health-scare, blood test, bad-relationship, or MRI tear me apart.

I'm coming out on top. I'm making my own way in the world and I'm succeeding, no matter what. No matter the challenge. I don't give a fuck. I think it's time I get a little shine. I feel like I'm owed some kind of dues for the way God, sort of, fucks with my life. I mean, I'm not bitter, just realistic. I'm not the marrying type. I'm not against marriage but, I don't really need to be anybody's wife. I'd rather be, their queen, their confidant, their refuge, their partner in everything; in life. I'm looking for a ride, or die.

I'm looking to build, and make something, of this, unpredictable life. I am hoping to change the way things are in my life. I am looking to let, the past go, forever, and just experience the good in my life.

I'm striving for a long-term stride. Perhaps a path away from the dramatics and drama, or drama-queens and toxic energy, in my life. I need to shine. I need to travel in the direction of calm and make my dreams, a reality in my life.

It's a new year. I won't live this one, being left behind, mistreated, taken for granted, or in fear. I won't be scared, mislead, betrayed, or treated like an object, or past time, indeed! This year will be fair. I will live it with faith. I'll live it with strength. I'll live it with dignity, and love around me, and good friends. I will live it with laughter and a smile on my face. I will live it with wealth. And most importantly... live it with the greatest of riches... my health.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

©I.M. "That Girl," Inure Muse

Hi! I'm "That Girl Muse," author, artist, muse, poet, surrealist and spirit guide, who uses creativity as a means to heal the mind. Each poem's a lil' bit of Inure Muse's story @Find_the_muse & support my work. You can also book me online!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.