Poets logo

It's a Dog's Life

A poem

By Alison McBainPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Extraterrestrial Challenge
It's a Dog's Life
Photo by Joseph Pearson on Unsplash

When the spaceship splashes down in a fanfare

of eerie sounds into the lake, I share

an incredulous look with my dog Leo

while on our walk, which seems to ask: "Is this real?"

* * *

A door collapses inwards and stairs wend

their way to the shore. I tend

to think of aliens as little green men

but these creatures are different.

* * *

I'm not sure how they communicate

without mouths. But somehow, they translate

their desire to find the best that our planet

has to offer on their short visit.

* * *

I wrack my brain to narrow down

the many choices around town.

Food is out, unfortunately, since they have no mouth

and tropical island getaways are too far south.

* * *

Music concerts are hard to get into even

for humans, and I don't believe in

waiting at the long lines in Disneyland--

I don't think they'd understand.

* * *

I look down at Leo again and he looks up at me,

and the concept becomes apparent very easily.

I let them pet my dog and he licks their hand

and I think in the end, the visitors understand.

* * *

Love is a concept that you can't see or touch--

The best of what Earth offers, and I told them as much.

There's nothing better to show in the end

than the love of humanity's loyal best friend.

love poems

About the Creator

Alison McBain

Alison McBain writes fiction & poetry, edits & reviews books, and pens a webcomic called “Toddler Times.” In her free time, she drinks gallons of coffee & pretends to be a pool shark at her local pub. More: http://www.alisonmcbain.com/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Congratulations on a fine entry and placing in the challenge, very much deserved! Petting dogs is a universal pure goodness! Love it!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Congratulations on runner up!!!

  • Veronica Coldiron8 months ago

    I submitted a dog one too. Aren't they just awesome!! 😊🥰 This is WONDERFUL! Congratulations!!

  • Addison M8 months ago

    Nothing purer than petting a dog. Great work!

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Very nice. Congrats

  • Matthew Fromm8 months ago

    annnnnd off to go pet my pup. Congrats on the well-deserved award!

  • Nice📝🧡✌️

Alison McBainWritten by Alison McBain

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.