Poets logo

It's a colourful life

By India Rose Grant

By India GrantPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Metallic painting-2017

Colours of my mind,

They are not always kind.

The colours of my soul

Are usually cheeky ass mongrel’s.

Not a thought that is easily bound,

And lucky if they’re found.

I keep some in a box hidden deep within-

Some think they’ve found it amongst all that gin.

Beyond how it is I am dressed,

A time when I am at my best,

Or an image I would project.

Little do you know that it’s what I select.

What you may see at first sight

Could be as far away from reality as a drifting kite.

Disturbed by the waves that take me blind

Or just sweet, innocent and kind.

An influence from her, a patchwork from him-

Placed within my own reality that is found in random whims.

What is it that makes me unique?

I breath like you,

You grow like me

A fool would think that I am originality.

Well, as always there is something new to learn

I am not merely what I earn.

A new story to be shared and told

I’ll keep telling them even on the pension,

Grey and old.

It is not boldness I posses

But merely a sense of curiosity I confess.

There are times when the colours I share are true,

If you’re lucky I might share them with you.

By Lina Trochez on Unsplash

The music begins,

One step two step pas-de-bourree

Thats my word of the day!

A hand flick, a body roll and I’m out of control!

Falling on my face I laugh,

Discarding my ego in the dance class

(It won’t be the last time I fall on my ass).

A release of tension, a release of pressure

Brought to life in an elevated gesture.

Its more than words could say

The joy it brings me when I sway.

But I see colours when I get the moves right

Bursting out my fingers, it makes me feel so alive!

In sync with the beat, in sync with my feet

Connected to story, colour and life I can breath.

The space dance and arts centre-2019

But that’s not where it stops no no

There are other places I can let go.

I love to scribble upon a blank page

Chalk is my sidekick and mess is my fun,

I flabbergast in all when its done.

Though, sometimes drowned in wine and sorrows-

After a good old scribble, I’ll make sense of it tomorrow.

Reds blending with yellows, black, greens and blue

This is my artsy fartsy crew.

Blasting some music (probably Florence)

The freedom this gifts me is beyond mere appearance.

Chalk- 2018

Continuing on is something I love to share,

Out of my room and the safety the studio does bare.

A connection to story I love the most,

I am still learning to be human so I humbly boast.

Acting's my game, and oh how I love to play!

When I go to a show it always makes my day.

Electricity and ecstatic tingles through my body-

I don’t need drugs to get high off this folly.

A way to connect to others so wonderfully ,

To relate to the world with pure empathy.

Every issue we go through, every tear that we cry,

Every laughter that escapes us will run it all dry.

There will be a play, movie or performance told

That's how we can relate to something bigger and bold.

The lights are on set, the pressure is burning

The impulse is clear and oh, my soul is yearning!

The colours arise from the vibrations within

Through the voice that emerges truth can begin.

Every word spoken has a unique intention

With this respect we fall into another dimension.

The hex code -2018

To tie the knot on this beautified colourful package,

Is my home town so luscious and enigmatic.

Australian tropics sunshine and storms,

A connection to our earth mother invite-ably forms.

Green mountains with bare feet I walk,

Listening to the thousands of birds squark.

Mud between my toes, humidity in my hair

Jumping off waterfalls if I do dare.

Sand that squeaks beneath my feet

I dive into the clear blue ocean so deep.

It washes away everything of the day,

Cleansing my spirits, drifting me away.

The drumming circle at 5.00pm begins

A little hippie town all about the simple things.

This world is rainbow in the skies and earth,

Forming the colours I discovered after birth.

Captured from my home in Australia: #noeffects

These are the things that I love the most

With these I possess the colours I host.

Does this make me unique or different to you?

Probably not as you are flesh and blood too.

The colours we share, the stories we tell,

These are all things that life cannot sell.

What interests me is not what sets us apart,

But rather how we can relate in this world from the start.

Yes, I am me and you are you-

All with unique stories and colours too.

Yet, our hearts are still beating within our chests

Connected in different forms to the life we suggest.

Can we listen to a new splatter of paint?

So we can release ourselves from our constraints.

Coming together over our differences-

Forming new colours that could change our preferences.

Chalk- 2016

art

About the Creator

India Grant

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    India GrantWritten by India Grant

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.