Poets logo

It never rains in California

Inspired by a letter from my sister from L.A.

By Christian BassPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
It never rains in California
Photo by Viviana Rishe on Unsplash

Well, my soul checked out when I got her postcard,

I've read the words with a throbbing heart.

She wrote that everything is right in L.A.,

Clear blue sea and sunny weather on every day.

*

It never rains in California, she wrote lately.

It never rains in California, she wrote to me.

It never rains in California!

*

Well, one long year is nearly over and gone

And she will come back to hear this song.

She wrote how much she's enjoying big L.A.,

Clear blue sea and sunny weather on every day.

*

It never rains in California, she wrote lately.

It never rains in California, she wrote to me.

Ir never rains in California!

*

From summer 2001 to summer 2002 my sister went to New York as an Au Pair, her holidays she spent in our family apartment in Santa Monica.

At that time I was in desperate need to find new ideas for rock songs for my band. Me and my band started to have different view on music, while I wanted a more modern sound, they preferred to stick to the old fashion rock music. This was my last attempt to come up with another rock song, before we split.

Almost two decades in music came to an end in 2003. Nowadays, my desire to return to stage is almost zero.

Thanks for reading.

Song Lyrics

About the Creator

Christian Bass

An author, who writes tales of human encounters with nature and wildlife. I dive into the depths of the human psyche, offering an insights into our connection with the world around us, inviting us on a journeys.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    The repetition did seem lyrical and I sang it to my own tune! So sorry your music career came to an end

Christian BassWritten by Christian Bass

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.