Poets logo

It Just Seems ColderThough

Florida life

By Colleen WaltersPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 3 min read
3

Winter is sneaky. I washed, folded and packed up all my fleece blankets, when the nights got warmer and the days got hot. Two days of frolicking in shorts and a tank top, taking photos of the pretty weeds to remember them by, after I mow their cute little selves down with the mower.

I love mowing the grass- weird , I know. Most people hate mowing their lawn, and then there’s me. Most people try to stay busy so they don’t have to mow, and I’m over here “ I can this and that tomorrow, today I mow!”

I think it’s the sense of accomplishment when you look at the tall grass and then you mow it and you have nice short pretty grass. You can actually see what you’ve done. I leave lots of weeds for a little pollinators like butterflies, hummingbirds, bees, dragonflies wasps.Theres no sense in having a nicely mowed yard without caring for the little creatures in the process.

So anyway, yesterday I had on shorts and tank top. This morning, I get my coffee started while I go to the barn. I had on a flannel shirt and I took about three steps before the arctic blast hit me like the third monkey on Noah’s ramp- (and it’s starting to rain.) I marched back into the house and donned a thick hoodie and went out to brave the elements once again. I swear that North wind went through my back and out my front as I briskly walked down to the barn. Salem, the horse, wasn’t concerned. He was like “ feed me already” and the chickens? They’re out there acting like it’s 70 degrees. One hen was in the coop in the nest, pretending she was laying an egg so that she could get extra heat lamp time. I’m with you, sister…

Chores all done and I head back to the house, hands numb and butt frozen. I open the door and step into a warm house ( it was 67 degrees, which is chilly to me) and slowly warm back up again. It looked so nice out, too! The grass seemed really green and the sun was spectacular.

So I get ready for work and head on in, getting to work in the garden center today- my favorite. I’m in a relationship with my plants at home, but I’m not afraid to flirt with the beauties at work. I think I felt the first effects of frostbite after like 5 minutes, the freezing wind blowing through the building, like a gale intent on turning me into an ice sculpture.

And then she showed up. She smiled as she cast her warm gaze upon me, melting the icicles on my eyelashes. I closed my eyes and let her envelope me in her warmth, my body slowly warming up and tingling. Even the flowers sang a beautiful chorus in perfect harmony, as she shone down on all of us and wrapped her loving warmth around us like beautiful golden arms. I swear a petunia winked at me when I walked by, but we flirt all the time so there’s that.

The pansies were huddled like a bunch of sad faces, so I went over there and sang them a little song and I’m pretty sure one of them rolled her eyes. Hey, whatever.. I love you even if you look like a little sad face, girlfriend. The palm trees were like “ who turned off the heat?” and I was like “ right?”

The Dahlias were over there, looking all dignified and elegant. But I know they were secretly shivering in their pots. They’re just too stoic to show it.

I think one of the apple trees blew me a kiss while I was admiring the tiny apples all over it. You were a beauty. I sold you this afternoon so that this elderly couple could enjoy your fruit- that’s cause I love you. Well, the truth is that her card got declined. God told me to buy you. Really, He did. So basically God gave you to Brenda and her husband. I found out that her son almost died from a heart defect, but he was in the right place at the right time, and was saved. So every apple you give Brenda will remind her of the day that a stranger did something nice for her, asking nothing in return. God already said He’d pay me back for doing His work for Him.

And then someone came in and said it was 51 degrees and I could scarce believe it. I almost died of exposure and it was 51 degrees? Well, the wind chill made it much colder though. The hazards of living in Florida… unpacking the fleece again.

Like I said, winter is sneaky here.

.

nature poetryFree Verse
3

About the Creator

Colleen Walters

i’m just a girl in Florida who likes to write things, usually inspired by events and people in my life..Always be you, because you are awesome-

When I grow up, I want to be a kid again.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 2 months ago

    Winter's sneaky here as well😅

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.