Poets logo

It Could Have Been on the Chauvet Cave

Because love knows no time.

By E.K. DanielsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Chauvet Cave horses, one of the earliest records of human's prehistoric art. Photo by Thomas T. @ Flickr

Pen scratches on parchment, papyrus, paper?

It's hard to remember.

It could have been on the Chauvet Cave.

*

I have felt like I have been here before.

Ink swapped for keyboard clacks,

And the roles reversed.

Although I suppose perhaps in this life, I will teach you things, too.

*

I hope to profess my heart,

And that you will be my eager pupil,

Ready to learn the language of my lips and the curve of my mouth,

To read the furrows in my brow and the blush in my cheek.

*

For now, I will wait with bated breath.

My eyes meet yours, but they are guarded,

Like a fortress built to protect sacred ground.

I see your citadel, as I possess the same.

Defenses constructed to contain.

Mitigate. Nullify. Numb.

My desire seeks to lower our arms in each other's.

I am not foe, but friend.

I will not loot, but love.

love poems
2

About the Creator

E.K. Daniels

Writer, watercolorist, and regular at the restaurant at the end of the universe. Twitter @inkladen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.