Poets logo

Is This What Love is?

A poetic reflection on love

By Melissa ArmedaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Is This What Love is?
Photo by Bruce Hong on Unsplash

I have never been held in this way before.

In this way so characteristically mine

And yet so dumbfoundingly new.

Some way so bizzare and yet innate.

I do not see another being separate from me to love

But someone I already love

Somehow

Already.

Someone with a face I never knew before and a soul I never touched before and

Yet it feels like home.

Feels like home as I never knew it but always wanted it.

Somewhere where the laughs do not end, where the night does not grow cold, where the stories are not set to cease at some required time.

Somehow the doors never leave the people go.

The fire never stops throwing heat.

Somehow there is no foreseeable end to this thing we started.

I never knew that feeling before.

My life has always felt like a series of endings.

You do not feel like an end.

You do not feel like a beginning.

You feel like a middle that extends forever outward and forever on.

You feel like a home that I will always live in.

Forever

love poems
2

About the Creator

Melissa Armeda

Sometimes-poet. Sometimes-novel writer. Lover of food and pets of any kind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Astraabout a year ago

    nice!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.