Poets logo

Is This How Creation Came to Be?

A Poem from a quantum view

By Blaine ColemanPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Image credit: Author

Our measure of Time is arbitrary, artificial

We measure the rate of vibration of a molecule

and divide that natural cycle into equal parts.

Arbitrary and artificial because time is a mere

progression of moments and a moment only flows

like water, it cannot be grasped, divided or held.

It does not, and cannot, stop.

Because a moment is already the Past.

This non-moment is the only moment

This non-time, the only time we have

Cannot exist if now is defined by then, and when

Because what we call “then”

Did not exist, then and will not, when.

Time is a force, one side of the coin

A measure of distance

And distance requires Space,

The other side of the coin.

Space is movement, motion

And Movement, with Time, is Creation.

Time with Space expands the universe

Into greater being.

But the sides must be balanced.

When Space is all

There can be no Time

Creation fetal

Both unborn and buried.

When Time is all

There can be no Movement

No Space, Movement

Creation unborn.

Neither can exist alone

Space and Time work as one

For without space, there is no time

And without time, no space.

With either, there is the other.

And with either, there is no other

Only both, as One.

If the Present is a progression of Moments

And if a Moment is already the Past

Then the Present cannot exist.

Yet, when Time is complete

When Space is complete

Past, present and future are one

Fixed in the spheres

Motionless and unchanging.

Present but not present

This non-thing, non-moment

Is all that we have

Cannot exist, yet it does.

I wander through time

And think that it wanders through me

I lie in bed at night and wonder

With dread and with hope.

I try to remember physics, and why

This moment cannot be real, why

The Present cannot be present

And I am not even sure that it matters.

Because in Time we Move, we Dance!

From the Present

The point of Stillness

To the point of Timelessness, we move

Ever outward, bound nowhere

And bound everywhere

And we dance, it is Creation!

~ ~ ~

This story was originally posted on Medium.

Thank you for reading this short piece and I hope you enjoyed it. I have other stories and poetry written and more to write, along with my thoughts on issues of the day, spirituality, religion, politics, and more. You can subscribe to Vocal using my link and see all new work as I publish it and you can also read the thoughts, stories, and viewpoints shared by thousands of writers. And part of the money from every membership helps us all continue to publish and share our work.

I can also be found on Medium, Simily, Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn.

I hope you enjoy my work, and a small tip will help me to continue writing

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Blaine Coleman

I enjoy a quiet retirement with my life partner and our three dogs.

It is the little joys in life that matter.

I write fiction and some nonfiction.

A student of life, the flow of the Tao leads me on this plane of existence.

Spirit is Life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.