Poets logo

Is This Distraction?

Send Help!

By Stephanie DownardPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
9
Photo by Stephanie Downard and my daughters

Dirty laundry, giving me the stink eye,

I better wash that.

Stale crackers dancing on the floor,

Thanks, kids.

Remembering I was writing something.

Actually, maybe I should do the dishes first.

Crap, the kids are fighting again.

This summer break isn’t for the faint-hearted.

Inordinate knocking at the door,

Oh, great, the neighbor girl is here again.

Nope, my coffee isn’t strong enough for this.

humor
9

About the Creator

Stephanie Downard

I'm a mom of 3 plus a bonus son. I've discovered I love writing, and in my free time, that's what I do! I may not be the best, but that will not stop me! It can only go up from here! I hope you enjoy the words that trickle out of my head.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    Family life is one big long distraction - can confirm!

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Well done & spot on during summer break!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Natalie Wilkinson11 months ago

    Oh so true.

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    A great read, excellent challenge entry and I love the photo! Great job!

  • Lilly Cooper11 months ago

    The coffee is never strong enough. I love the time spent with my family during school holidays, but it is always nice to get back to the relative peace and routine of work and school.

  • I burst out laughing at your pic! Your poem was both hilarious and pitiful. You need some stronger stuff to deal with all of that! Loved your poem!

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    This was a fun ride 😅 As a teacher, I resonated with this a bit, for a bit of the opposite reason -- being free for the summer and thinking of parents at home with their kids :) Awesome job!

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    😅 Time for a double shot of espresso! I enjoyed this a lot, Stephanie. Made me laugh.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.