Poets logo

Is It That Simple?

Women

By Ana JPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Teachers. Ancestors. Warm. Great grandmothers. Leaders. Broken. Battered. Mothers. Loud. Submissive. Women.

Getting back up because it never happened.

Welcoming you because it is my nature

I dare not go against my own DNA.

Come here baby, I understand.

Cum here lets make one.

Women.

Brilliantly phenomenal.

Queens.

Bothered. Angry. Petty. Do not touch my hair.

Women.

Shove your compliments up your ass and why tf don’t you love me?

Women.

Loud. Articulate. Strong. Accepting.

Pent up built up trauma.

Pass it down. Cold shoulder.

Resentment. Forgive and do not forget shit.

Let me hold this over your head.

Women.

Forever, phenomenally brilliantly getting back up because it never happened.

Leaders.

Queens.

Women.

Message from the Author

Of course, poetry, or my attempts at writing poetry, is a form of expression. I need a place to put these thoughts and feelings that do not seem to belong anywhere else but paper. I have yet to truly master this art because my poems are just the ice-bergs of what I am truly thinking. This poem was written after a call with my mother. If only words were like magic. Enjoy.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Ana J

There are many ways to dive into the human mind. There are many ways to express. It is the thought that counts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.