Poets logo

Is It Against The Law To Be Black?

A Poem on racism

By Annelise Lords Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Image by Annelise Lords

These words are coming from the heart of the mother of young black American sons living in America. The question she asked is, “Is it against the law to be black in our world today?”

I was born black

I can’t turn back the clock

That’s what I am

I can’t change the program

My DNA says I am what I am

My blackness cannot be altered

To fit a country that faltered

In taking away the basics

From people with black skin and black faces

Black people have created wealth for all races

But still, we are the poorest without graces

Can you understand, what it means to be

A Person of Color, yes that’s me

Five hundred years later

My people must behave like a gladiator

Fighting for basic rights that won’t come now or later

Rights others take for granted

With colors to fit the unbranded

Persons of Color are branded

As criminals, murderers, thieves, rapist, drug dealers, and all things underhanded

That always seems to be caught on the spot

Breaking laws to rights they haven’t got

Because it’s against the law to be black

In their own country that will take their labor

But don’t want them as their neighbor

We are one, we are one

Even though divided by religion, race, creed, or the ground we stand on

Rich or poor black people are still targets

Given freedom, but still treated like garbage

You don’t believe me, ask history

Who won’t speak,

cause she’s allowed to repeat

Slavery and its atrocities

That made black people commodities

I still must ask the question, ‘Is it against the law to be black?

Will my son, grandson, nephew, uncle, father, brother, cousin, grandfather be the next innocent victim?

Or will it be you?

Thank you for reading this piece. I hoped you enjoyed it.

Image by Annelise Lords

This poem and pictures are copyright by Annelise Lords 2020

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.