Poets logo

Is Farting in Church a Sin?

Not if you lie about it

By SkyringPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
St Barnabas Chapel, Norfolk Island (Image by author)

After service this morning we lingered, we three:

The Reverend Golightly, my dear wife, and me.

The sun streamed in as we stood by the door,

The stained glass tinting the old wooden floor.

I relaxed for a second, and then with a sigh

My breakfast beans blew quietly by.

I thought I’d escaped, and I would have had if

It hadn’t been quite so much of a whiff.

My wife ceased her chatting, sniffed, and said, “Pooh!”

Then gazed at me sternly, “Was that awful smell you?”

She gave me a Look, and my heart gave a lurch;

What, admit before God that I’d farted in church?

“Of course not, my dear,” I said without thinking,

Standing my ground as they both stood there blinking.

A moment of hush, and the reverend mused,

“Oh! It must have been me then. Please do excuse!”

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Skyring

Retired cabdriver

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.