Poets logo

Irreconcilable Smoothness

Grounds for Divorce.

By Lamar WigginsPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
14
Dall-E

A tireless relation

runs the gamut-

all good things

must come to an end.

He,

the bold, rich,

creamified lover.

And she,

the sweet, sassy

globular counterpart,

have celebrated

marriage

for as long as

I know...

However,

this palate has

changed,

matured,

graduated.

Textures clash,

they disappoint...

I hereby

reject

the continuance

of this

solemn union.

Separation

is plausible,

separation

is obligatory.

*

I remain enamored by

the existence of

this simple legume,

disguised as a nut

but related to the bean.

It's transformed into

a heavenly spread that

slathers the bread

with finesse,

blanketing the

outer fringes of the

toasted crust.

-process complete-

I stare at the

basic

creation

and watch

the oils rise

to cover the

surface

with a healthy

sheen.

I lunge

for that

anticipated bite,

while

the ouster stares

in contempt

from a

distance,

completely devastated.

Alienated for other uses;

no longer necessary

for pairing...

A second bite

occurs,

shortening the

life span

of sadness

for the imminent

breakup.

I stand by my

righteous decision...

*

Pasty, proud,

and newly liberated,

the protein-fortified

spread

may never find

another soulmate

worthy of

its supreme quality

to stand alone.

With one bite left...

I internally

celebrate.

By Tetiana Bykovets on Unsplash

Thank you for stopping by.

surreal poetrysocial commentaryfact or fiction
14

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    I just ate a packet of Reese's while reading this 😁

  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    My mouth is water with the new craving for peanut butter!! Looks like I need a snack!!! Such vivid sensory imagery and details in this, I am in constant awe of your talent Lamar!! Great work!

  • PB&J forever! Great stuff, as always, Lamar! There is always great depth to your writing, and I find in a second reading, it often impacts me even more. Thank you for sharing your talents and heart with us.

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    🤤 I’m all for peanut butter in bed with a spoon! 😆 Great poem Lamar!!

  • I'm a sucker for peanut butter. But just last year I tried it with jam and I kept cursing myself for not trying it sooner! I love PB & J so much! Like SO MUCH! But doesn't mean I don't like peanut butter on it's own. I still love it! Your poem has made me so hungry, lol!

  • E.K. Daniels6 months ago

    Haha the original Mr. and Mrs. - PB & J! Love the unique take on this challenge. I have the draft of a submission which also deals with PB, but in a more abstract way. We shall say if it makes a final draft. I like your take—original, and versatile on the metaphorical and literal palate!

  • No more jelly? How about banana slices & honey?

  • Mark Gagnon6 months ago

    Sorry, but I'm a fan of strawberry jam. Peanut butter isn't the same without some support. Even Reese's peanut butter cups would be lacking without the chocolate case. Funny story!

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    UMMM! Not quite sure what is happening here. My mind is jumping al over the place. But. at least the subject seems satisfied. Hmmm!

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    This started tragic, and I loved how you worded that, but turned quite funny, and I loved how you worded that too.

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    This is smooth

  • Real Poetic6 months ago

    Brilliant brilliant and one more time… brilliant. You my friend are an amazing poet! 🩵

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.