Poets logo

Irony

A Poem About Abandonment

By Branagh GarrettPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

“I couldn’t bear to lose you”

You said

Then you toyed with my head

As you broke my last wall

Said you “loved” me, instead

It is I who can’t bear it

No good way to share this

You crushed all my hopes

As you did so, you dared me to

Boil over with rage

I am trapped, I am caged

Behind doors that you locked

And you are who to blame

All I hear in this hell

Is your voice, and it aches

All I need in this moment

Is the heat of your gaze

Why did you do this,

If you couldn’t bear?

And why-- No, and How did you think

It was fair?

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.