Poets logo

Iris

a humble patch of soil

By StratusfierPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Generous Blossom

I see

The black of letters

Speak much louder than

The words. Raised high,

I see

The signs. Borders framed blue

By the morning sky. Proof of

Breadth. The need for

Broad, Horizon breaths.

  • I see history. I know it

    By the red drops that

    Dry into a shirt and make it

    A Legacy. Standing out from off-white

    Tear gas billowing into a haze. I see

  • Through the mist

    That makes conflict

    A drifting shuffle of

    Silhouettes. I don’t recognize

    A person’s outline. I see

  • What brims and spills

    Their essence into the air

  • Like the deep Blues, and

    Spices ground into

    Reddish yellow-browns

    Fine enough that they

    Pollinate the nose, soft blooms

    Made by spinning dresses dancing

    The Salsa, and the intricate

    Beige of embroidery

    Petaling long boubous. I see

  • And know another by buds

    The patina of pastel pueblos,

    The rich pigments of aboriginal

    Face paint, the sweet orange

    Of jackfruit cut down by

    Good hosts, the light green of

    Tea ceremoniously brewed.

    I see people

  • That blossom

    So generously

  • That I sprout.

    And am watered.

    I celebrate,

  • I celebrate

  • The sweat and tears

    Of many rains

    Flowing through irrigation

    Built for days of warm sun

  • And all of our Nature

  • That makes

    The earthy brown

    Of my iris

    The fertilizer

  • That seeds us all

    A meadow.

    art
    Like

    About the Creator

    Stratusfier

    I love improving at crafts that lead to strong relationships and impact in my community. The difficulty of being neurodivergent is the toil of working constantly for understanding. For myself and others. I hope to be a bridge for that work.

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments

    There are no comments for this story

    Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sign in to comment

      Find us on social media

      Miscellaneous links

      • Explore
      • Contact
      • Privacy Policy
      • Terms of Use
      • Support

      © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.