Poets logo

Invite Him In

I Don't Want To

By Mother CombsPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Image by Pete Linforth from Pixabay

Tap

Tap

Tap

There is a tap-tapping tap on my window

I dare not try to take a look

If I do, it will know I hear

I dare not turn towards the casement

Doing so would

Encourage it

Embolden it

Incite it

I can not let it know

That I lay here awake

Afraid

Scared

Frightened

I pray he can’t smell my fear

In my sweat

In my perspiration

In my sudor

Tap

Tap

Tap

There is a tap-tapping tap on my window

If I look

It will call to me

If I look

It will ask to be let in

I must not let him

I do not want to invite him in

But I hear his call

I will not be able to evade for long

Tap

Tap

Tap

I listen to him tap-tapping tap on the casement

Calling my name

Calling my soul

Tempting me

Luring me

To open up

And let him in.

listsurreal poetryfact or fiction

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    Oh come on, he must be so cold outside. Just let him in, lol! Loved your poem!

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    Ooo this is so well-written!

  • Alex H Mittelman 10 months ago

    Great work! Love the tapping! Fantastic!

  • Jay Kantor10 months ago

    Dear StepMom ~ I so try to keep up with you by following your 'Freshly' Baked Bread Crumbs - Always a terrific choice of topics. btw; when you have a moment "TAP"-out 'POKER' I thought of you when I wrote about the Wobbly-Wheel Brit cars. StepSon ~ in good standings? ~

  • This comment has been deleted

Mother CombsWritten by Mother Combs

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.