Poets logo

Invitation to My invisible world

A tribute to my autistic son Noah, in my son’s perspective

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
12
Invitation to My invisible world
Photo by Elodie Oudot on Unsplash

sometimes I feel a part of the background

Like the way I line up so perfectly

Is this rare

How I feel?

How I can handle beats so perfectly in synch

In memory and rhythm?

There’s an invisible world I see

With patterns and balances that need to be aligned

Or broken or something that is good enough on its own,

Like me,

Here’s an invitation to this rare picture

Rare waves inside my mind,

As I love the same as you

With gusto and energy,

My patterns of perfect symmetry

Don’t always line up with everyone’s attitude of social norms

As I have it on a boat of idiosyncrasy’s

That is on a long, tangled sea, webbed and full of deep memory

Where I can remember details and facts going back to the beginning of the age of time, 10,000 BCE.

Is this feeling really so imperfect because I find imperfect rare and rare is beautiful

And beautiful is me.

listinspirationalexcerptschildrens poetry
12

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle Authorabout a year ago

    This is beautiful

  • Oneg In The Arcticabout a year ago

    This is so beautiful and sweet

  • I am so sorry I missed this, and beautiful tribute sis. Also I had to drop in as my two pieces that mention autism have virtually no acknowledgement from the Vocal community despite one being my second most read story. Thank you Heather for alerting me to this.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    What an amazingly honest and loving tribute. And that last line said it all :) I loved this!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    The the message in your poem. Very relatable 🥰

  • Heyyy, I'm Austisic too! And this resonated with me so much! This is a very beautiful tribute to Noah!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is gorgeous. I see a top story coming. Well done.

  • Moe Radosevichabout a year ago

    What an awesome tribute, indeed 😀

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.