Poets logo

Invisible Skyscraper

By Sofia DaVeiga

By Sofia DaveigaPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
2

They look through me

In and around me

Of my curved bodice - they admire

A plain and simple chalice that bends in its mold

That finds itself unseen in the corner

Finds itself unnoticed even displayed on shelves

Wearing jewels and diamonds that deter the planes from the skyscraper I am

From the massive enigma that I am

Causing them to flee from that which they fear

That which they don’t know

For maybe, they know something else

Something better

Better than that which they see

Better than that which they say is what they need and desire

And they look on

Search on

Beyond my chalice that remains unfulfilled

That sits barren and empty

That they all look through

In and around

But, they don’t see me

They don’t see me

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Darkos9 months ago

    Beautiful!

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Very emotional! Fantastic poem and great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.