Poets logo

Invisible Illness

A personal poem

By Rene WatersPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

you ask me how I am

making polite conversation

you do not want the answer

you would not understand it

I may look fine

I may even look healthy at times

I look normal

I am good at pretending

you do not see the real me

because it is not acceptable

illness has a time limit

you get sick and you get better

or you die

if you are dying we pity and mourn

and are thankful it is not us

we fundraise for you and take care of you

and allow you to die

because you will be sick and then you will die

and that we understand

I will not get better

I will not die

I have the pain

I have the expense

I will take much longer to die

So here I am

you will see me at work

you will see me at the store

Pretending

while I live each day in the constant pain

of being betrayed by my own body

it has not made me stronger

I am strong

I still fight

the invisible fight

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rene Waters

Author of stories both insightful and true.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.