Poets logo

Intrusive

In search of a skin

By Carol LipshultzPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in After the Parade Challenge
1

Binding, my breath is caught in restrictive fabrics.

Mirrored back, and I think I look good.

Green is my color, heathered.

See and show who I am, a shorthand representation of ego.

I want it to feel good.

Scrunchies on my bedside table spite my buzzcut.

Nothing feels cleaner than a blank slate, metamorphosis.

But in that I lose people, I lose myself, I disconnect.

It’s heavy, feeling.

So, I skip it.

Trying not to be, removing myself from my presence.

But the fabric keeps me in, I’m here in it.

I ask it to keep me together, please.

Squeeze me tight and put me back in place.

Keep me here.

I just wish I could breathe.

Please.

It would all come together if I could just breathe.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Carol Lipshultz

I'm a chemist who loves to be an artist/writer for enjoyment.

(they/them)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    This feels like one trying to put the pieces on oneself into the whole of what one should be. Searching for the self. Hope it is found.

  • Autumn Eden2 years ago

    This is incredible. I really think exploration of poetry would elevate all areas of your artistic expression. This poem is provocative and demanding when read. It took me outside myself and into the writing. At every juncture your word choice lead me deeper into an understanding. An understanding that felt mutual between myself as reader and you as poet. Beyond empathy lies synchronicity -- I love the way you built a bridge with so few words.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.