Poets logo

Intimacy

What I want in a relationship when I'm ready.

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
2
Intimacy
Photo by Zoe on Unsplash

I want intimacy, but I don't want just sex. For so long, people tried to tell me that's all intimacy is, but thankfully my mom drilled the truth into my brain before my view was tainted. It's your touch, not there, but here on my knee. Here, an arm draped over my shoulder. Fingers in my hair, a quiet lullaby lulling me to sleep. I love the sweet reminder you're here and I am safe. It's the love radiating from your eyes so intensely that I want to look away but can't because I'm entranced. Locked in this moment I want to stay in forevermore, the kind of sweet look that will give me everlasting butterflies. It's your arms around me tight like you'll never let me go. Even if the urge to pee hits in the middle of the night I have to fight your grip and hope I won't mess up the sheets anyway. It's your kiss, innocent and quick, but full of love just the same. It's you in my ear, whispering how gorgeous I am, blank canvas and baggy clothes. Sweet nothings to make me blush and wonder where you've been all my life. "Waiting for you" is what I'm sure you would respond, cheesy but romantic just the same. It's us in bed, under the covers, no space between, my head on your chest, listening to your heart beat just for me.

***

See its stuff like this that makes me realize I have high standards when it comes to romance. But I like to think it just goes to show my parents taught me well when it came to love. I know what I want, so when I am ready for a romantic relationship and eventually marriage, I know not to settle. To all you single people, don't settle for less than what you deserve. It is better to be lonely than miserable.

-Alexandria Stanwyck

slam poetryStream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryperformance poetrylove poemsinspirationalFree Verse
2

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.