Poets logo

Interrogatives

a love poem

By Pete GustavsonPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
2
Interrogatives
Photo by Felicity Lynn on Unsplash

how was it

that I let all the air out

and held my lips ajar

when I saw you come into the room?

how did it go

that song I sang

when you did not know

each word was just for you?

what was it

in each wild beat

that made it the same

as your name?

and how did you see

what was in me

all that time

that I did not dare to see?

and why?

why do I care?

when all I know

is that you are here

now and ever. . .

and I do not know how it

came to be this way,

and yet it is.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Pete Gustavson

Pete Gustavson is an award-winning songwriter who dabbles in fiction, and can't decide between Elmore Leonard and Hilary Mantel. He lives with his wife and children in Southeastern Pennsylvania.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    This is beautifully done. It flows so well. Great job.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.