Poets logo

Interactions with My Crush

Few and far in between

By RayannPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like

I look his way every day,

the back of his head,

or even a profile glance.

My crush, my love.

Random small talk such as “Hey” or “how’s your day?”

With those short answers “hey” or “good”

Occasionally making way with a few sentences.

Nerves so bad, redness fills my face.

My hands shake.

Leaving the scene before I drown in “crush inflicted awkwardness”,

and am loving every second of these unforeseen interactions between he and me.

Us doing this dance with pure uncertainty.

Or at least,

A solo longing to be a duet.

My crush, my love, will you join me?

How can I show you? Do you even see me?

I am here, waiting for these moments.

Of you and I in the break room catching glimpses, passing by.

Is this true, or is it just me?

That one day you complimented me,

was that a hint or just you being friendly?

Recently I have pulled back in noticing you,

thinking maybe… we were not meant to be a “we”.

Downhearted, yet a little more at ease knowing I will not have the shaky hands or red-filled face,

let alone the excited nerves when I hear your voice.

But, today. Today we had the most words exchanged to date,

I noticed as he said “it was good seeing you”

I responded “what?”

He replied “it was good seeing you”

I then fumbled out a “it was good to see you too, thanks” followed by briskly leaving the room.

Could this be something more ?

Is he just being friendly?

We shall see..

As I see him daily.

My crush, my love.

I am still here, waiting excitedly.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Rayann

I love to create. I write poems from time to time, a way to escape. Perhaps, some stories too... they sometimes do what poems just won't do.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.