Poets logo

Inside

Is Supposed To Be My Safety

By NystolgiaPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Inside
Photo by DESIGNECOLOGIST on Unsplash

Inside

That’s where shit gets rattled and rough

So on the outside dont you press your luck

Hold up

Inside

I keep the truth in a book

Don’t open up

You couldn't handle to look

Hold up

Inside

Feels like I’m always in Checkmate

Sadly

What’s a pawn to a rook

Hold up

Inside

Im gonna go at my own pace

Inside

Im gonna finish my own race

Then it’s back to the home base

Hanging up on the homies

Annoying

It’s like their focus is choking

Inside

I focus on the unspoken

Maybe thats why im broken

Inside

Nothing but bottled up emotions

Dump them out and you've created the ocean

Inside

I gotta better my aim

Inside I’m slowly going insane

Inside was never the same

Inside I buried the shame

But you can still see the stain

Inside this isn’t a game

Inside it’s time for a change

Inside

I still cry from the simplest stuff

Inside I wish my heart was more tough

Inside

I think about the future too much

But from the look of things

It’s never enough

Inside

I put myself in figurative cuffs

Inside is where I process your bluffs

Inside

I think about the future too much

Inside I rarely keep in touch

Inside is only fear

Inside is my career

Inside is where I'm unapologetically weird

Inside are my scars

Inside are my stars

Inside are my triumphs that brought me this far

Inside is my pride

Inside I describe

Inside I put the time to elevate my vibe

Inside are my roots

Inside is my truth

Inside is my drive to pull the trigger and shoot

Putting pen to paper

And action provides the boost

Then I sit and pray and watch what God produced

Ignoring negative spirits by putting people on mute

Inside

I feel like I am Groot

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nystolgia

Nystolgia AKA Black Wall Street AKA Lil Mental Stress AKA Hold This I'll Be Back AKA Amun Ra AKA The Rapper Formerly Known as AKA

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.