Poets logo

Infrared

The Truth of Love

By Amanda StarksPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
1

In the abyssal darkness I see the light in you

A blinding light that eradicates all doubt

Of the voracious love I feel for you

But in that abyssal darkness

I also see the raging fire in you

An unquenchable fire that eats away the inimitable soul

Of the person I care for most in this ever changing world

But it does not matter to me

Which form of warmth

Others choose to see

Or which form of heat

You choose to give

For I alone will always know

Which one is

Infrared.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Amanda Starks

Lover of the dark, fantastical, and heart-wrenching. Fantasy writer, poet, and hopefully soon-to-be novelist who wants to create safe spaces to talk about mental health. Subscribe to my free newsletter at www.amandastarks.com for updates!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis5 months ago

    Again, this makes me want to read it over and over. Sublime, seductive. I really love this one. I'm left pondering the meaning of 'infrared' and all of this person's differing lights and warmths.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.