Poets logo

Infinity Evermore

A Tale of Love Immortalized

By Corey MimsPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - March 2021
54

Planted in eternity, with you, that’s where I will be. Planted in the bosom of forever, a realm where my love for you, Ambrosia, thrives like a rose bush in bloom in the garden of Eden, watered by the rivers of life. When my eyes held your being for the first time, it was divinity incarnate. I gazed not upon a person, but an imaginative experience in the flesh that left my mouth unable to speak, and my lungs unable to breathe. I hid from you, receded from the view of your almond brown eyes out of fear that your unapologetic womanhood and sensuality would crush my meekness. Love can be funny that way sometimes, its magnetic attraction is irresistible as it heaves at our heart strings guiding us to fulfillment in itself. Yet once we arrive, it seems to abandon us.

It guided me to you, when I asked of it “what now?” its response was silence. It knew, that I knew the answer within my heart, though I didn’t want to admit it to myself. Lover suffers no fools, but I didn’t have the courage to pursue you, so I evaded you. Instead, you pursued me; your aroma caressed my nostrils, your visage assailed my dreams, your smile and laughter filled my thoughts day and night. For days on end I resisted and my torment intensified, I had to do something, “shoot my shot” as they say. Then, I saw you, sitting beneath a gardenia tree, your skin reflected the afternoon sun’s rays and cast a honey gold hue worthy only of royalty. Aphrodite in all of her splendor paled in comparison to you. As I approached you, I exuded confidence, but inwardly, I was a panicked mess.

I stepped into your event horizon, when you looked at me your gaze was fierce and your demeanor was indifferent. I spoke, and so did you, we shared laughs and smiles and time in all of its illusory cadence flew by. The day was too soon gone from us, it didn’t matter, because we’d be back to see each other again the next day and every other day for the next 6 months. During each rendezvous, you gave me more and more of life, and I was lucky to just give you my company. The song of ours was a beautiful symphony, older than time, we played its tune with every moment we spent together.

One day, as we walked along the shoreline, the wet sand kissing our feet, the waves splashing softly against our ankles, the orange hue of the setting sun glowing on us you dropped. I never considered the day would come when the song would cease and the symphony would be no more. After all, how could you, Ambrosia, a name given to one who fed the immortality of the inhabitants of Olympus seem so lifeless. Hooked up to life support machines, death looked upon you and the life you gave to me and it hungered, it sent a brain aneurism to deliver you to itself as its meal. The operation that could satiate death’s appetite and save your life was 20,000 dollars, which was 20,000 more than I had on call.

Despite the circumstances, I would not be deterred. You were too precious to me to allow death to take you from me without a fight. I became desperate, mad with worry and without a sensible plan, or a sensible means to acquire the money. However, I would not relent, I did what desperate men do in desperate times and became reckless. I robbed a bank and took the money, 20 grand to my name I rushed to pay for your salvation to keep you here with me. When I arrived, you were gone. I was too late to satisfy death’s appetite and it took you from me.

As I sit here in this dimly lit room, entombing my final and happiest thoughts of you and of us in this little black notebook, tears stream down my face. Tears not of sorrow, strangely enough, but of joy because I will see you again soon. As time enacts it’s penance upon me, I patiently await the day I will see you again. When I stride into my old age, I will look back at our shared time together and smile as you impatiently await my entry into the realm ethereal. There in that other world, I will meet you again. Our love never existed in time, it simply always was and always will be. In the next life that awaits me, where you wait for me, we will be placed in infinity evermore, planted in eternity forevermore.

love poems
54

About the Creator

Corey Mims

I just like telling and being told great stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.