Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

"INDEPENDENTLY ALONE"

"OF LOVE, LIGHT, DARK OF CRITIQUE"

By Vicki Lawana Trusselli Published 6 months ago 2 min read
5

I'd rather be alone.

I'd rather be alone than to be

with people who criticize me.

I'd rather be alone at home.

than to be with people

Who critique me,

who don't care.

I'd rather be alone

because I love to share.

I'd rather be alone

than to be with people

who criticize me, who epitomize me.

I'd rather be alone

At my home.

We live in a world of critical anger and so much hate.

We live in a world of billions of people who wake up everyday.

We live in a world of billions of people

who go to sleep every night.

We live in a world of people who search for the way.

We live in a world of such fear and fright and flight.

We live in the world of fun.

We live in a world of hot and cold.

We live in a world of so many people of light

of the day and night.

I have met the dark, the light.

I choose the light

to guide me during the night.

I'd rather be alone

than to be with someone who critiques me

cause the one forcing control over everyone

are the powers of the dark side of the moon

of the sun, the moon, the stars

of light shimmering through the dark

of the night of the soul

to dance, sing, paint

the rainbow of light of the day shining through the

clouds of the storm of the decades of the faint

hearted.

Peace, love

all that jazz

the music plays on

and on.

Dance my sisters, we are in the world

of light and the universe of light

in the flight of love

shining bright.

Let's make love in the night.

Let's make love.

Let's watch the stars above

as we make love on the beach,

the ocean spraying over our love so, we

can be together to create, to paint

a life of music, song, dance

of the leprochan.

I am not alone.

I have my song

I have my light.

I have the moon, the stars, the sun

to make love in the sand

with my love laying upon

the sands of time.

as the hourglass drains the sand

I turn the hourglass upside down

to sit in my room to come around the

life of the of the merry go round.

The rainbow of light

shines bright through the night.

We are holding each other tight,

The universe of light

AMOR, PAZ Y LUZ

WRITTEN BY

VICKI LAWANA TRUSSELLI

NOVEMBER 2023

AN OLD SOUL OF THE UNIVERSE

surreal poetryCONTENT WARNING
5

About the Creator

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

I worked for the music and film industry in Los Angeles, California and Austin, Texas. I studied nursing, journalism, art, film, and computers in college. I was in the first computer class in 1981 at The LA Times. PEACE OUT!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Test6 months ago

    Amazing job! Keep up the outstanding work

  • Thank you for such an insightful poem!!!

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    💙💙💙💙💙💙

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.