Poets logo

In Your Hands

Session #86 from my poetry collection

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
1
In Your Hands
Photo by Kourosh Qaffari on Unsplash

The only way I have ever

truly felt like I was being honest

with myself, with the ones I choose

to hold my vulnerability

my fear, my doubts, my pain

my inner torment in their hands

was when I allowed the pen

to be filled with truth instead of ink

when I didn't allow time to pass

between the fleeting thoughts

and the words dancing on the screen

when I finally said screw it

and allowed the mask to crack

***

I am terrified, believe me

of placing journal entries turned poetry

into the hands of my friends and family

into the hands of the love of my life

that i haven't even laid my eyes on

i am terrified to start shedding this image

i created for what i thought was my well-being

to start allowing people to see this part of me

a woman who is tortured by her personal demons

and what the world deemed to be her trauma

I am terrified of what their eyes will hold

because what's worse than anger and hate

is the moment when you see a look of pity

***

But I am tired of holding it all in

I am tired of playing this role

i am tired of pretending that some words

don't affect me more than others

I am tired of smiling when i am in agony

I need something that resembles balance

between the happy and the darkness

I need to get it through my head that

I don't have to be put together for everyone

there are moments when I am not

and I need to promise myself it is okay

so here is my start, my hidden away, my honesty

being held together by string and glue

***

This was one of my favorite poems to write and what I felt was the perfect way to round out my poetry collection. This poem was born out of the fear I had (and still kind of have) about publishing some of my darker feelings and healing journey for people to see.

"Courage is not the absence of fear. It is feeling the fear and doing it anyway." -- TJ Hoisington (This is pretty similar to quote I posted not that long ago.)

slam poetryperformance poetryinspirationalexcerpts
1

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.