Poets logo

In this dream...

poem? psalm? Song? not sure. Art By Evaline Rose

By Kaloriinn MasonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

In This Dream:

In this dream I wish for nightly

to vanquish this nightmare land

It takes a moment and lasts a lifetime

all in a moment you take my hand

disperse my demons, this sorry loneliness

never let me wake from this

but oh in my nightmares

the nightly nightmares that don't end when I awake

There is nothing in this shadows

how much more do I bend and break

In these nightmares visions glowering

upon my soul, rending fiercely

sear away my peace

oh hidden in pines, death awaits

oh how many times must I seen them dying

while I escape

But somewhere, I wish to dream that somewhere

you are waiting, to save my weary heart

just takes a moment, a simple moment to hold my hand

Then the nightmares they grab me and thrash me

and the visions play, dancing in the sunlight

macabre ballet, puppet corpses, those I loved once

those I love now, so afraid, go away

These lonely shadows, upon the wall

things I once was, tell the husk what to say

Oh they hunt me in dreams, cutting away

to unsettled things

oh the chase me in the day light,

on immortal voices, eternal sing.

How many more time must I hear their song

tearing the heart strings, my voice is gone

Close my eyes try to defy, all that defines me

everything that binds me, the very things that bind me

It's all so heavy, I'm just so tired,

can't even rest, when I'm asleep

I reached for a hand, and paid the price

I reached for her hand, and the nightmares took me

just a tool, my own destruction

dead, what once was

hollow born, that wants love

the last threads remaining

these feelings to you pertaining

my reaching hand, maimed and maiming

cut the threats I'm begging

The nightmare's all that's living

Let me rest, forgive me

I asked too much, existing.

Kaloriinn, James. Mason.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Kaloriinn Mason

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.