Poets logo

In This Dark and Lonely World

A Poem

By Jocleyn SorianoPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
10
Image by olcay ertem from Pixabay

In this dark and lonely world…

I found you.

I found someone

Who will take away all my masks

And see me for who I really am…

See me without judging me

Or accusing me…

See me without backing away

Being either frightened or ashamed…

See me for who I really am

And love me just the same.

In this dark and lonely world

Where everyone’s so busy

Trying to make their dreams come true,

You came.

You noticed me and at last I found someone

who is interested in my own dreams…

The truth is I have forgotten them.

But you made me remember

And everything that seemed so far away and impossible

just became nearer and more real.

They became real because your faith in me was true.

In this dark and lonely world

Something happened

Someone came

Light has touched me

And changed me.

It entered so deep within my heart

And unfroze me.

And in that moment,

I knew what it’s like to be happy

Because

You found me

Because

You took me in

Because

You loved me.

This poem is included in the book "Poems of Love and Letting Go". Get it from Amazon today - click here.

love poems
10

About the Creator

Jocleyn Soriano

Writer. Poet. Inspirer! Author of Poems of Love and Letting Go.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.