Poets logo

In the Parade of kindness

I will find my place

By Tessa Talia RosePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
In the Parade of kindness
Photo by Courtney Hedger on Unsplash

Tonight,

my friend,

is the promise of thousands of little sparks in the sky,

lifting me up from the melancholy,

is the festivity to look forward,

the parade that I belonged.

.

I found my place in the white, blue and red,

I was proud,

watching the parade I belonged.

.

The flag is American,

united by the pride,

are the democrat and republican.

.

And this year again,

I am going to be counting the numbers of pyrotechnics lighting up the American dreams,

town to town,

from my balcony,

I will host my annual party,

after the parade.

.

But this year instead,

I am counting the beaches that are crowd deserted,

one by one,

driving along the shore of lake Michigan,

paused,

by the siren,

is the birthday party for all countryman.

.

Lives lost,

by a gun man,

still on the run.

.

Before I let my voice of sorrow join the sea of fears,

before I let my words of blame join the river of tears,

I must find my place,

in this sky of madness,

in this heartbroken parade.

.

Once I thought,

I must make my voice heard,

gun or no gun,

roe vs. wade,

my loud vote will make all the difference in the world,

I was proud.

.

Once I thought,

I must pick a side,

democrats or republican,

left vs. right,

for the civic duty and my voting right,

I must not lose my American pride.

.

The memory of the glorious explosions echoing in the night sky,

the silence of the terrifying gunshots lingering on the daily news,

they are waking me up to the perception,

that I can only find my place inside my own light,

and when my light is joined by your light,

my friend,

the world filled with songs of peace is vividly in sight.

.

The voice of kindness can only be heard,

when our differences are silently touched,

felt,

embraced,

understood,

kissed,

and dissolved,

into sea.

.

In the dusts of the unspoken fireworks,

I breath in the air of loneliness we share,

seeking for the truth I don't want to believe,

the only promise I can keep,

is that I will keep on marching,

in the parade of kindness,

and that is my American pride.

.

It could have been me who was lying down in blood,

it could have been you who was crying for the loved one lost,

it could have been you and me who took the opinion of the opposite side,

but I am going to march in the parade of kindness,

would you,

my friend,

walk by my side.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Tessa Talia Rose

Writing gives me solace and delight, I write in finding the evovling self.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.